Kate Miller Sworn Into Office as Newest School Board Member (VIEW VIDEO)

Fourth district member Kate Miller met with her colleagues on the Board of Education for the first time Thursday night during the regular monthly session.

Prior to the meeting, Miller was sworn into office by County Mayor Tim Stribling at the Board of Education Building.
Miller was appointed by the county commission last month to serve a portion of her husband Billy Miller’s unexpired term on the school board. Billy Miller had to resign due to job obligations.
Kate Miller will serve as an appointee until the August 2016 County General Election. The election will be held to fill the remaining two years of Billy Miller’s unexpired term which ends August 31, 2018.
Director of Schools Mark Willoughby presented Billy Miller a School Bell Award in appreciation for his four years of service on the Board of Education.
Meanwhile, Director Willoughby presented his monthly update on personnel moves.
Alison O’Conner,teacher at Smithville Elementary School
Danny VanDyne, custodian at SES
Heather Billings, substitute cafeteria worker
James Storie, cafeteria worker at SES
Martha Wheeler, substitute cafeteria worker
Donna McManus, substitute cafeteria worker
Danny Jenkins, as a full time bus driver
Vickey Atnip, Special Education Assistant SES
Sharon Hunter, Special Education Assistant SES
Substitute Teachers:
Deana Hale, Shirley Ingram, Chris Chapman, Vickie Burton, Walter Burton, Darcie Cripps, Betty Fisk, Carol Hale, LaTonya Kleparek, Layne Mathis, Michelle Overstreet, Helga Thompson and Gabriella Vanatta.
Debora Cunningham, Special Education Assistant transferred from DCHS to SES
B.J. Thomason, transferred from full time to substitute bus driver
Stephanie Reeder, transferred from substitute cafeteria to full time Title I Assistant SES
Jennifer Roller, transferred from Title Assistant to Special Education Assistant
Teresa Billings, substitute cafeteria worker to full time
Peggy Sutton, substitute cafeteria worker to full time
Marsha Martin, substitute cafeteria worker to full time
Ana Guzman, custodian at SES
Chelsea Grissom, teacher at SES
Myra Fox, Special Education Assistant at SES
Kenneth Gordon, Special Education Assistant at SES
Stephanie Walker-Dyer, Food Nutrition Supervisor
Leave of Absence:
Amy Fox, Special Education Teacher leave as requested
Jamie Wright, Site Coordinator at DCHS, leave as requested
Tiffany Cowart, SES teacher leave as requested
Rebecca Whimpey, Special Education teacher at DeKalb Middle School leave as requested

Posted in News and tagged .