Scholarships Awarded To Fifty Three Students At DCHS

Fifty three members of the Class of 2006 at DeKalb County High School received scholarship awards during Friday’s annual Senior Awards Day program.
Colleges, universities, businesses, civic groups, and other organizations presenting awards and their recipients are as follows:
Tennessee State University:
Four year $36,000 Minority Scholarship- Keitha Pryor
Middle Tennessee State University:
$1,000 Raider Scholarship-Paige Reeder
$5,000 Neill Sandler Scholarship- Bethany Davis
$6,000 Four year Provost Scholarships- Charles Cox, Justin Hooper, Shane Baker, and Sean Leiser
$12,000 Academic Service Scholarships- Samantha Emerson, Ben Malone, and Jacob Norton
Tennessee Tech University:
Athletic Scholarship to play golf- Tara Cantrell
$16,000 Four year Academic Scholarship & $1,000 College of Engineering Scholarship- Kirk Micheals
Valedictorian Scholarship/ Human Ecology Department (Martin and Lorraine Peters Endowed Scholarship $2,500 per year)- Elise Cantrell
$8,000 Golden Eagle Diversity Residential Life Scholarship- Jessica Ingram
$4,000 Legacy Scholarship- Aaron Young
$3,500 Science Fair Scholarship- Zachary Fuson
$1,000 College of Business Administration Louise N. Taylor Endowed Scholarship- Kheela Blair
Tennessee Technology Center at Livingston:
Academic Scholarships- Benjamin Nolt and Samantha Walker
Vol State Community College:
$1,500 Division Academic Service Scholarship- Corey Williams, Samantha Walker, and Caitlin Robinson
Cumberland University:
$2,500 per year Academic Scholarship- Bethany Sims
Academic Scholarship- Paige Bass
University of Tennessee at Knoxville:
$1,500 per year University Scholarship- Daniel Alexander
$3,000 per year Volunteer Scholarship- Courtney Curtis
U.S. Army:
$37,144 Montgomery GI Bill Award- Matthew Sorrell
U.S. Marine Corps:
$36,000 Scholarship- Alesha Billings
Distinguished Athlete Awards- Ben Malone and Tara Cantrell
Scholastic Excellence Award- Elise Cantrell
Motlow State Community College:
$4,000 Academic Service Scholarships- Joshua Hendrixson and Sara Jared
Tennessee Titans:
$1,200 Community Service & Leadership Scholarship- Ben Malone
DeKalb Hospital:
$1,000 Scholarship- Christen Hale
Daughters of the American Revolution Scholarship (Caney Fork Chapter)- Malea Adamson
Smithville Women’s Club:
$500 Scholarships- Paige Preston and Malea Adamson
Lucille Stewart Memorial:
$2,000 Scholarships- Jacob Nokes and Cody Randolph
Matthew McAfee Memorial:
$2,000 Scholarship- Ashley Underhill
DeKalb Foundation for Education:
$500 Scholarship- Kristen Strickland
Kenny and Kyle Robinson Memorial:
$1,000 Scholarship- Paige Reeder
DeKalb County Scottish Rite:
$1,000 Scholarship- Janda Emmons
Eddie Crips Memorial:
$1,000 Scholarship- Janda Emmons
Liberty State Bank:
$1,000 Scholarships- Kealah Curtis and Kheela Blair
Chris Lawson Memorial:
$500 Scholarship- Kristen Strickland
Pizza Inn/Bumpers Drive-In :
$1,000 Scholarship- Kristen Strickland
Charlene Morrison Johns Memorial Senior Achievement Award for Excellence:
$500 Award- Susan Willis and Jacob Norton
DeKalb Funeral Chapel:
$500 Scholarships- Bethany Davis and Janda Emmons
Love-Cantrell Funeral Home:
$500 Scholarships- Whitney Rice, Zachary Fuson, and Chase Bradford
Allen Hooper Memorial:
$500 Scholarship-Corey Williams
DeKalb Farmers Coop:
$500 Scholarship- Aaron Young
DCHS Class of 1966:
$500 Scholarship- Whitney Rice
AmSouth Bank:
$500 Scholarship- Amanda Green
Smithville Rotary Club:
$500 Scholarships- Paige Reeder and Krista Puckett
$100 Math Award- Charles Cox
$100 Vocational Award- Sarah Randolph
DeKalb Retired Teachers Association:
$500 Scholarships- Jason Lattimore and Josh Odom
Smithville Business & Professional Women’s Club:
$500 Scholarships- Tiffany Nicole Waggoner and Janda Emmons
Leadership DeKalb Alumni Association:
$500 Scholarship- Daniel Alexander
DeKalb Republican Women:
$500 Scholarship- Kris Robinson
Agee Oil Company:
$1,200 Scholarship- Daniel Alexander
Amvets Post #101:
$250 Scholarship- Zack Lay
Amvets Post #101 Ladies Auxiliary:
$250 Scholarship- Josh Ramsey
DeKalb County Fire Fighters Association:
$250 Scholarships- Elicia Taylor, Whitney Rice, and Ashley Underhill
DCHS Class of 1969:
$250 Scholarship- Kevin Colvert
Elzie & Nell McBride Memorial:
$500 Scholarship- Jacob Norton
DeKalb County Soil Conservation District:
$500 Scholarship- Zachary Fuson
DCHS Student Council:
$250 Scholarship- Janda Emmons
Studio Six Photography:
$200 Scholarships- Ashley Underhill and Nicole Linn
Two students, Shane Miller and Jacob Norton, received awards for perfect attendance during their four years at DCHS.
Two teachers, Betty Paris and Joey Reeder, were also recognized for perfect attendance this year.
Harriett Cantrell was named DCHS Teacher of the Year as selected by the faculty.
The Tennessee Scholars is a recognition program that encourages students to take a more rigorous and challenging course of study in high school. It is a partnership between the school district, County Mayor’s office, the education committee of the Chamber of Commerce, the State Department of Education, Tennessee Chambers of Commerce and Industries, and the Tennessee Business Round Table.
The Tennessee Scholars have met a rigorous program of study, which includes advanced math, science and technical classes, have maintained a good record of discipline and attendance and have completed at least twenty hours of community service.
The following students from DCHS are this year’s Tennessee’s Scholars: Daniel Alexander, Tara Cantrell, Courtney Curtis, Samantha Emerson, Janda Emmons, Kalee Finley, Amanda Green, Justin Hooper, Jessica Ingram, Sara Jared, Nicole Linn, Ben Malone, Jacob Norton, Lourdes Quezada, Cody Randolph, Caitlin Robinson, Kris Robinson, Amanda Scott, Kathy Scott, Bethany Sims, Matthew Taylor, Ashley Underhill, Corey Williams, Susan Willis, and Aaron Young.
Other senior awards and the recipients are as follows:
Senior Band Awards: U.S. Marines “Semper Fidelis”- Josh Hendrixson; Outstanding Senior Musician- Corey Williams; Most Improved Senior Musician- Kathy Scott; Most Dedicated Senior Band Student- Zach Fuson; Outstanding Color Guard Member- Samantha Emerson.
Outstanding FCCLA Seniors- Amy Williams and Susan Willis.
U.S. Marines Scholastic Excellence Award- Elise Cantrell.
Distinguished Athlete Awards- Ben Malone and Tara Cantrell
Economics Award for Outstanding Achievement- Courtney Curtis and Daniel Alexander
Government Award for Outstanding Achievement- Ben Malone and Malea Adamson
Advanced English IV- Shane Baker and Kirk Michaels
English IV- Alesha Billings and Lulu Quezada
Art- Erica Brown and Nicole Linn
Health Science Education- Shane Baker
Forensic Science Academic Achievement- Kristen Strickland and Corey Williams
Theatre Arts Best Actress- Susan Willis; Theatre Arts Best Supporting Actress- Ashley Craver and Kathy Scott; Theatre Arts Best Supporting Actor-Cody Byars; Theatre Arts Best Animated Character- Amy Williams.
Student Council Vice-President- Zach Fuson; Student Council Treasurer- Sean Leiser; Student Council Senior Members- Jacob Norton, Janda Emmons, Ben Malone, Amy Adkins, Ashley Craver, Bethany Davis, Jessica Ingram.
Overall Business Award- Kris Robinson
Yearbook Awards: Co-Editors- Elise Cantrell and Keitha Pryor; Business Manager- Shane Miller; Features Editor- Matthew Taylor.
Most Improved Math Student- Ricardo Gutierrez
Math Award- Jessica West
Database- Andrew Nunley and Ryan Taylor

Posted in News and tagged .