Jan Alexander Named DeKalb County Teacher of the Year

The DeKalb County Teacher of the Year is Jan Alexander.
John Isabel, President of the DeKalb County Education Association, made the announcement during Thursday night’s Board of Education meeting at the high school cafeteria.
A Teacher of the Year is selected at each of the five schools and one of them is chosen DeKalb County Teacher of the Year.
Alexander was named Teacher of the Year at DeKalb Middle School.
Isabel also recognized the other Teachers of the Year including Harriet Cantrell at DeKalb County High School, Teresa Bogle at DeKalb West School, Jan Thomas at Smithville Elementary School, and Lisa Bell at Northside Elementary School.
Carol Hendrix, Supervisor of Instruction, recognized the retiring teachers who each have dedicated many years of service to the DeKalb County School System and the children of the county.
The retirees honored include Tommy Alexander from DeKalb County High School, Carolyn Maynard from Smithville Elementary School, Teresa Bogle from DeKalb West School; and Carolyn Mullinax from DeKalb West School.
Director of Schools Jim McCormick also recognized Cathy Frazier, Supervisor of Special Education, who has also retired.
Mary Nelle Summers honored five cafeteria staff who are retiring this year including Jennie Foster, a cook at Smithville Elementary School; Jean Cook, a cook at DeKalb West School; Frances Haggard, Betty Malone, a cook at Northside Elementary School, and Sarah Tramel, cafeteria manager at DeKalb County High School.
Earl Jared, Maintenance Supervisor, recognized two retiring employees, James “Doober” Miller, maintenance worker; and Lynn Colwell, maintenance worker/bus driver.
Carol Hendrix also honored the newly tenured teachers including Joseph Agee, Joseph Ruch and Peggy Semmes from the DeKalb Middle School, Penny Bilyeu and Sonya House from the DeKalb County High School, Amanda J. Franklin and Jennifer C. Rice from the Smithville Elementary School, Tad Webb, Leah Cantrell Magness and Tonya Perry from the Northside Elementary School and Melanie Molander from DeKalb West School.
A reception was held after the meeting for the retirees, tenured teachers, and the Teachers of the Year.

Posted in News and tagged .