District Tournament Begins Thursday, All District Team Selections Announced

The DCHS Lady Tigers will face Upperman in the District 8 AA Basketball Tournament at Cookeville High School on Thursday night, February 12 at 8:30 p.m. The winner will take on either Central Magnet or Macon County on Saturday. Upperman is a two seed in the tournament while the Lady Tigers are a seven seed.
Meanwhile, the DCHS Tigers will meet Macon County on Friday, February 13 at 6:00 p.m. in the District Tournament. The winner will face either Livingston Academy or Central Magnet on Saturday. Macon County is a three seed in the tournament and the Tigers are a six seed.
WJLE plans LIVE coverage of all games involving DCHS teams.
The Thursday night, February 12 tournament schedule is as follows:
(1) Livingston Academy vs (8) York Institute (Girls) at 5:30 p.m.
(2) Livingston Academy vs (7) Central Magnet (Boys) at 7:00 p.m.
(2) Upperman vs (7) DeKalb County (Girls) at 8:30 p.m.
Friday night, February 13:
(3) Central Magnet vs (6) Macon County (Girls) at 4:30 p.m.
(3) Macon County vs (6) DeKalb County (Boys) at 6:00 p.m.
(4) Smith County vs (5) Cannon County (Girls) at 7:30 p.m.
(4) Upperman vs (5) Smith County (Boys) at 9:00 p.m.
Meanwhile, DeKalb County’s Justin Bone was named to the All-District Second Team while Isaac Beck received Honorable Mention. For the girls, Maggie Knowles was selected to the All -District Freshman Team. Knowles and Ashli Chew made the All-District third team. Loren Cripps earned Honorable Mention.
Josh Ruehlen of Cannon County and Colton Blevins of York Institute have been named Co-Most Valuable Players of District 8AA while Callie Hackett of Smith County is this year’s District MVP for girls.
The All-District Team selections were announced Friday.
Meanwhile, Dana McWilliams of Upperman and Leslie Riddle of Livingston Academy have been selected as Co-District Coaches of the Year for girls while Matt Rigsby of Cannon County is the boys District Coach of the Year.
Seth Carlisle of Macon County and Akira Levy of Upperman are the District’s Freshmen of the Year and the District Defensive Players of the Year are Colton Blevins of York Institute and Callie Hackett of Smith County. The District’s Most Improved Players are Austin McWilliams and Abby Greenwood both of Upperman.
Members of the All-District First Team for boys are as follows: Wade Eldridge and Zac Craig both of Livingston Academy, Jacob Nave of Cannon County, Ben Guffey of Upperman, and Evan Perrigo of Macon County.
All-District Second Team: Cameron Huff of Smith County, Justin Bone of DeKalb County, Austin McWilliams of Upperman, and Michael Ashburn and Seth Carlisle both of Macon County.
All-District Third Team: Garrett McReynolds of Cannon County, Hunter Shrum of Upperman, Kaleb Qualls and Xander Miller both of Livingston Academy and Seth Hackett of Smith County.
Honorable Mention: Marshall McReynolds, Austin Martin, A.J. Daniel of Cannon County, Patrick Blair of Central Magnet, Isaac Beck of DeKalb County, Loren Crowder of Livingston Academy, Trace McPherson of Macon County, Shermar King of Smith County, Austin Shrum of Upperman, and Pacey Pyle and Jordan Wright both of York Institute.
Freshman Team: Shermar King, Jaylon Shepperson, and Bryant Goolsby all of Smith County, Carter Hayes of Livingston Academy, and Nick Hamlett of Central Magnet.
All-Defensive Team: Wade Eldridge and Loren Crowder both of Livingston Academy, Marshall McReynolds and Austin Martin both of Cannon County, and Evan Perrigo of Macon County.
Members of the All-District First Team for girls are as follows: Claudia Smith and Ola Obi both of Central Magnet, Akria Levy and Gracie Maynord both of Upperman, and Kailey Winningham of Livingston Academy.
All-District Second Team: Kellie Davis of Cannon County, Tatum Dillon and Jameson Dailey both of Livingston Academy, Briley Driver of Macon County, and Abby Greenwood of Upperman.
All-District Third Team: Keelie Lamb of Livingston Academy, Erin McReynolds of Cannon County, Maggie Knowles and Ashli Chew both of DeKalb County and Bri Melton of Smith County.
Honorable Mention: Kristen Hale and Kendra Maynard both of Cannon County, Paige Clark, Leah Anderson, and Lyndsey Belton all of Macon County, Sophie Fielder of Central Magnet, Loren Cripps of DeKalb County, Allison West of Smith County, Taylor Crouch of York Institute, and Sarah Eldridge of Upperman.
Freshman Team: Maggie Knowles of DeKalb County, Emily Sewell of York Institute, Kyndall Bullington of Macon County, Maleah Scott of Cannon County, and Riley Hurst of Upperman.
All-Defensive Team: Abby Greenwood of Upperman, Sophie Fielder of Central Magnet, Erin McReynolds of Cannon County, Alexis Savage of Livingston Academy, and Lyndsey Belton of Macon County.

Posted in News and tagged .