Cantrell, Johnson, and Summers Obtain Petitions from Election Commission

Three more incumbent members of the county commission have picked up qualifying petitions from the DeKalb County Election Commission for the May 1, 2018 DeKalb County Democratic Primary.
The latest to get their petitions are Joe Johnson, 2nd District County Commissioner; Larry Summers, 7th District County Commissioner; and Wayne Cantrell, 4th District County Commissioner.
Those who have obtained petitions to date are as follows:
*Wayne Cantrell-County Commissioner, 4th District, Incumbent
*Joe Johnson-County Commissioner, 2nd District, Incumbent
*Larry Summers-County Commissioner, 7th District, Incumbent
*Mike Foster-County Mayor
*Tim Stribling-County Mayor, Incumbent
*Bradley Hendrix-County Mayor
*Kevin Robinson-County Commissioner 7th District, Incumbent
*Nora Harvey-County Commissioner 2nd District
*Jack Barton-County Commissioner 3rd District, Incumbent
*Scott Little-County Commissioner 4th District
*Jeff Barnes-County Commissioner 6th District, Incumbent
*Betty Atnip-County Commissioner 6th District, Incumbent
*James L. (Jimmy) Poss-County Clerk, Incumbent
*Jimmy Sprague-Road Supervisor
*Jeff McMillen-Register of Deeds, Incumbent
*Nicole Wright-Circuit Court Clerk
*Mark Milam-Circuit Court Clerk
*Julie Young-County Commissioner 1st District, Incumbent
*Bobby R. Taylor-County Commissioner 4th District
Poss’ petition has been returned and (enough signatures) verified
In addition to County Clerk James L. “Jimmy” Poss, Road Supervisor candidate Jimmy Sprague, and Circuit Court Clerk candidates Nicole Wright and Mark Milam, others who have made public announcements on WJLE of their intentions to run for election or re-election in 2018 as Republicans are:
*Trustee Sean Driver, Incumbent
*Sheriff Patrick Ray, Incumbent
*Danny Hale for Road Supervisor
*Reed Edge for Road Supervisor
*Susan Martin for Circuit Court Clerk
The following county offices are up for election in 2018: Road Supervisor, County Mayor, Circuit Court Clerk, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, County Clerk, and Trustee and for the county commission in each of the seven districts (two per district for a total of 14).
DeKalb County Democrats will be nominating candidates for county offices in a primary set for May 1, 2018.
Democratic nominees will face any Republican and or Independent challengers in the August, 2018 general election. The DeKalb County Republican Party will be choosing its nominees by caucus. The qualifying deadline for all candidates will be the same, NOON February 15, 2018.

Posted in News and tagged .