State Proclamation Pays Tribute to DCHS Basketball Cheerleaders and Coach Walteen Parker

The DeKalb County High School Basketball Cheerleaders have been recognized by state lawmakers for winning the 2008 TSSAA State Cheerleading Championship in the non-building last month at MTSU in Murfreesboro. DCHS Basketball Cheerleading Coach Walteen Parker was also honored for receiving the Coaches Achievement Award.
The state proclamation, signed by Lieutenant Governor Rom Ramsey, State Senator Mae Beavers, and State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver, was presented to Coach Parker and the squad Friday night during halftime of the girls basketball game.
School Board Chairman Charles Robinson presented the proclamation on behalf of State Senator Mae Beavers, who could not attend. The proclamation was read by Dennis Stanley.
The proclamation states that “Whereas, the General Assembly is pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this state; and
Whereas, the DeKalb County High School Basketball Cheerleading squad is renowned for its perennial nature as a bastion of extraordinary athletic facility in the world of competitive cheering; and
Whereas, the DeKalb County High School cheerleaders achieved an unsurpassed level of success during the 2008 season, winning the TSSAA State Cheer Championship in the Non-Building Division for the second year in a row and the third time in the last four years; and
Whereas, during the TSSAA State Championship competition held at Murphy Center at Middle Tennessee State University on December 6th, 2008, these remarkable cheerleaders awed the crowds with their strength and grace, while duly impressing the judges as they showcased their talents, which have been developed through many hours of strenuous practice; and
Whereas, DeKalb County’s championship would not have been possible without the supreme knowledge and astute leadership of Cheer Coach Walteen Parker, who was also specially recognized with the Coaches’ Achievement Award; and
Whereas, this very impressive cheerleading team enjoys the leadership and dedication of three tremendous team captains, Rosemary Apple, Jessica Cook, and Alison Curtis, each of whom have been members of the cheer squad on all three state championship teams; and
Whereas, the DeKalb County High School Basketball Cheerleaders are Caroline Carter, Kendra Foutch, Amanda Ours, Perri Carter, Camry White, Tiffani Hendrixson, Allyson Judkins, Cora Beth Rhody, Sydney Robinson, Ashlee Whitehead, Rosemary Apple, Jessica Cook, and Alison Curtis; and
Whereas, the members of the DeKalb County High School basketball cheerleading team epitomize all that is good in today’s student-athlete, as they have achieved a premier level of success in competition while exhibiting the highest degree of character in all aspects of life; and
Whereas, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young women not only made possible a championship season, but also surely bode well for their success in every future enterprise; and
Whereas, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the members of the DeKalb County High School cheerleading team for their outstanding performance and for serving as examples of the exceptional quality of the youth of Tennessee; now therefore.
I, Ron Ramsey, Speaker of the Senate of the One Hundred Fifth General Assembly of the State of Tennessee, at the request of and in conjunction with Senator Mae Beavers and Representative Terri Lynn Weaver, do hereby proclaim that we honor and congratulate Coach Walteen Parker and the DeKalb County High School Basketball Cheerleaders on their exceptional legacy, their individual and collective resolve, and their triumph as the 2008 TSSAA State Cheer Champions in the Non-Building Division.”

Posted in News and tagged .