Parker and Chapman Awarded at Chamber Banquet

The winners of the annual Leadership DeKalb Alumni awards were honored Tuesday night during the Chamber of Commerce Membership Banquet at the Elizabeth Chapel Baptist Church.
Charlie Parker received the Community Leader of the Year Award and Ben Chapman was presented the Legacy Award.
The Community Leader of the Year award goes to someone who has made a significant and positive impact on the county, specifically during 2008 and in a capacity beyond their commitment to their profession. Parker was recognized for his service as Fire Chief for the Smithville Volunteer Fire Department and Director of the DeKalb County Emergency Management Agency.
Other nominees for the award were Nancy Lewis and Laura Stone
The Legacy Award goes to the person who has made a significant and positive impact on DeKalb County over a considerable period of time and in multiple or lasting ways. Chapman and his wife founded the Lighthouse Christian Camp where he serves as the President of the ministerial team that provides camps and special programs for disadvantaged children in DeKalb County and throughout Tennessee.
Other nominees for the award were Frank Buck, George and Pat Bullard, and Leon Stribling.
The guest speaker was former Murfreesboro Riverdale Girls Basketball Coach and motivational speaker Michael Burt..
The retiring members of the Chamber board are Adam Barnes of Middle Tennessee Natural Gas, Sandy Brown of SCB Enterprises/Tennessee Barn Builders, Kerry Davis of Averitt Express, Jason Evans of The Inn at Evins Mill, and W.J. “Dub” Evins of Evins Mill Nursery.
New members are Michelle Burklow of the Board of Education, Tom Duggin of WJLE and the Smithville Review, Les Greer of DTC Communications, Kathie McGlamery of the Appalachian Crafts Center, and Rob Willingham of Middle Tennessee Natural Gas.
Other members of the Chamber Board are Gina Denman of Denny Lamp, Elmer Ellis, Jr. a county commissioner in the first district, Kelley Garrett of Garrett Insurance, Chris Griffith of DeKalb Farm Bureau, Charlie Parker of Smithville Builders Supply, Robin Driver of Center Hill Realty, Tim Hintz of Off the Beaten Path Studio Tour, June Keith of DeKalb Community Bank, Valeria Laprad of the Middle Tennessee Times, and Judy Sandlin of the DeKalb County Fair Board.
The 2009 officers are President Robin Driver, Vice President Tim Hintz, Secretary Valeria Laprad, Treasurer Kelley Garrett, and Immediate Past President Kerry Davis.

Posted in News and tagged .