Mary Sanders Re-Elected to FSA County Committee

Donny Green, County Executive Director of the DeKalb/Cannon County Farm Service Agency, says the DeKalb FSA County Committee met in regular session on Tuesday, December 4 to canvass and tabulate the ballots received in the 2012 Local Administrative Area (LAA) # 1 County Committee Election. The deadline to return ballots was December 3.
Mary Sanders was re-elected to serve as a member on the Committee representing LAA-2. Her third and final 3-year term began January 1, 2013. Randall West was elected as 1st. Alternate, Bert Driver was elected as 2nd Alternate, and Jeff Carter was elected as 3rd. Alternate to the Committee.
In addition, the Committee met on January 8, 2013 for its Organizational Meeting. The Committee selected Timmie Adcock to serve as Chairperson, Jack Campbell to serve as Vice-Chairperson, and Mary Sanders to serve as Member. The Committee meets quarterly at the DeKalb/Cannon County USDA Service Center located at 647 Bright Hill Rd.
Green says that the DeKalb/Cannon FSA County Committee and office staff wishes to express their appreciation to voters in LAA-1 who participated in the election by voting and returning their ballots. “The local County Committees are a very important part of Farm Service Agency’s program delivery and administrative processes. I do not know of any other agency providing federal programs that can say that the delivery and decision making efforts are made on the local level by a farmer-elected committee,” added Green.
For more information about FSA’s County Committees or other program inquiries, call 597-8225 (extension 2) or come by the DeKalb/Cannon County Farm Service Agency office at 647 Bright Hill Street in Smithville. You can also visit the agency’s web site at:

Posted in News and tagged .