Five School Board Members to be Elected this Year

If you want to run for a position on the school board, you have until April 1st to qualify.
Five of the seven seats on the Board of Education will be filled in the August 5th DeKalb County General Election.
The positions are currently held by John David Foutch in the first district, Charles Robinson in the second district, Kenny Rhody in the third district, Joan Draper in the fourth district, and Johnny Lattimore in the seventh district. Each term is for four years.
The DeKalb County Election Commission reports that the following school board candidates have picked up petitions:
First District
John David Foutch (picked up petition)
Second District
Charlie Robinson (picked up petition)
Third District:
Kenny Rhody
The fifth and sixth district school board seats are not available this year. W.J. (Dub) Evins, III in the fifth district and Bruce Parsley in the sixth district were elected two years ago. Their terms will expire in 2012.
School board candidates run as non-partisan candidates
Meanwhile on the state level, candidates for state representative, state senator, governor and U.S. Congress can run for their respective party nominations in the August 5th State Democratic and Republican Primaries, with the winners and any independent candidates squaring off in November.
The qualifying deadline is noon, April 1.
State Representative:
James Hale (picked up petition) DeKalb County
Jamie Winkler (picked up petition) Smith County
Sarah Marie Smith (picked up petition) Smith County
Tommy Hay of DeKalb County has qualified to run for the U.S. House of Representatives in the Sixth District

Posted in News and tagged .