Election Commission Issues Five Petitions

Five petitions were issued Friday, the first day certain candidates on the August ballot could pick up qualifying papers.
The DeKalb County Election Commission office reports the following petitions were issued:
Kate Miller—School Board 4th District; W.J. (Dub) Evins—School Board 5th District; Doug Stephens—School Board 6th district; Shawn Jacobs—Smithville Aldermen; and Eddie Dwayne Blair—Liberty Aldermen.
The qualifying deadline is NOON April 7.
The Election Commission Office is open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.
County offices to be elected locally in August, along with Assessor of Property and Constable, (the qualifying deadline which has already passed)
are: School board seats in districts 4, 5, and 6.
The seats are currently held by Kate Miller, W.J. (Dub) Evins and Doug Stephens, respectively.
City offices to be elected are:
In Smithville—three aldermen seats currently held by Shawn Jacobs, Josh Miller and Danny Washer;
In Dowelltown—a mayor and two aldermen. The seats are currently held by Mayor Gerald Bailiff and Aldermen Joe Bogle and Kevin Kent.
In Liberty—four aldermen seats currently held by Jason Ray, Paul Neal, Todd Dodd and J.D. Bratten.
State Representatives Terri Lynn Weaver (District 40) and Mark Pody (District 46) are also up for re-election.

Posted in News and tagged .